Online Storage Help

File backups and syncs with the Desktop Tool

Workspace Desktop Tools allows you to automate the back up and synchronization of files and folders from your computer to Online Storage.

Creating Backups

Creating Backups and Syncs Using Workspace Desktop v1

To Create Backups

  1. Launch Workspace Desktop.
  2. Click Online Storage, and then click Backup.
  3. Click New.
  4. Depending on the type of backup you want, select My Documents, My Pictures, or Custom Backup, and then click Next.
  5. Specify the following settings:
    • For My Documents: If you want to continue without customizing your options, click Accept. Otherwise, click Customize, enter your customized information, and then click OK.
    • For My Pictures: To continue without customizing your options, click Accept. Otherwise, click Customize, enter your customized information, and then click OK.
    • For Custom Backup: Complete the options on the Folders, Options, and Schedule tabs, and then click OK.
  6. Click , and then click Run.

To Sync Folders

  1. Launch Workspace Desktop.
  2. Click Online Storage, and then click Sync Folders.
  3. Click Create a sync folder.
  4. Make sure you complete the options on the Folders, Options, and Schedule tabs, and then click OK.

    If you select to Upload or Download folders, you can also select Delete files from Online Storage that don't exist on my computer or Delete files from my computer that don't exist on Online Storage. Both options keep your files identical during the sync.

Creating Backups and Syncs Using Workspace Desktop Tools v2

  1. Launch Workspace Desktop Tools.
  2. Under All Accounts, click the Online Storage account that you want to work with.
  3. Above the Folder Backups/Syncs list, click Add New. The Folder Sync window opens.
  4. In the Backup name field, enter a name to describe the backup folder you want to add.
  5. From the Backup frequency menu, select when you would like synchronization to occur.
    • Manual: Synchronization occurs only when you manually select Run from the actions menu for the folder.
    • Automatic: Synchronization occurs whenever there is a change to your files.
    • Schedule: You set a day and time for synchronization to occur daily or weekly. Click the calendar icon to select a date and time for your synchronization.
  6. For syncs (not backups), select a folder in your Online Storage account.
  7. In the Folder on this computer field, click Select to browse to and select the folder on your computer where you want the backed up files to be stored, and then click OK.
  8. From the Backup/Sync type menu, select one of the following:
    • Upload only: Any files added to the folder on your hard drive are uploaded to the specified Online Storage folder.
    • Download only: Any files added to the specified Online Storage folder are downloaded to the specified folder on your computer.
    • Full Sync: Any files added to the folder on your hard drive are uploaded to the specified Online Storage folder, and any files added to the specified Online Storage folder are downloaded to the specified folder on your computer.
    • Backup: The specified files on your hard drive are copied to the specified Online Storage folder. As changes are made, copies are created and a file history is retained, allowing for file recovery.
    • Optional: Click Advanced to include or exclude specified files, folder, or file types and to specify the backup mode.
  9. Optional: From the More menu, you can view the backup history, view the backup log, or restore any deleted files.
  10. Click OK.

Managing Backups and Syncs Using Workspace Desktop Tools v 2

Once you create backups and syncs, you can manage them directly from Workspace Desktop Tools.

To Manage Backups and Syncs

  1. Launch Workspace Desktop.
  2. Under All Accounts, click the Online Storage account you want to work with.
  3. In the Folder Backup/Syncs list, for the backup you want to manage, you can do the following:
    • Run — Click the arrow icon to immediately perform the backup.
    • Edit — Click the pencil icon to edit your backup.
    • Delete — Click the delete icon to remove the backup. The files previously uploaded to Online Storage from the backup remain in your Online Storage account.

More Info


Was This Article Helpful?
Thank You For Your Feedback
Glad we helped! Anything more we can do for you?
Sorry about that. How can we be more helpful?