Hey @cooldude, it seems like you maybe thinking that purge and trash is the same thing? I don't know specifically what email program or platform you are using but I'll use GoDaddy Workspace email as a sample.
With Workspace there are two things. Emails that are "deleted" from the inbox actually end up in the trash. From your trash emails can be viewed and moved back to the inbox. From trash you can also purge which will also delete it forever. Check out Delete email messages. There is also a way to forgo the trash when deleting items from the inbox but I like to use the inbox as a buffer. I hope that helps?
roy darling *my posts seem a lot shorter in my head